Plan the Disaster

Standard

Planning for events is not the easiest thing in the book. I learned that one the hard way. I thought I had everything planned out for an event, but low and behold nothing I had done was for the correct time! The organization I was working for had not explained to me that they needed to move their event time. I was following up with them three days before the event when they informed me of the change in times. 

Luckily there were only a few things I had to take care of, they took on some of the responsiblity. First I called the speaker and informed her of the time change. Of course, she stated the worst, “I can’t make that time.” Now my only a few things turned into a state of panic, I had to find a speaker in less than 72 hours! So I asked her if anyone she worked with would be available at that time, she said no, but she did give me a handful of numbers that might be able to do the presentation.

So I was off calling everyone to find a speaker. After talking to about fifteen people, most of which I didn’t even know about (they were refered to me by the other people I called), I found the winner. She was able to the time and her position was perfect for the group! 

On the day of the event  she showed up with the greatest presentation we had seen in a while. Everyone was engaged and asking questions. The greatest thing about this event, was not only did a great speaker appear, but also an internship for one of the students at the event developed.

Networking is a great way to find people, I came into contact with some really great professionals that day. Without even asking these people helped out more than they needed to. Disaster can be a blessing in disguise!

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

2 responses »

  1. Nicole:
    You did a great job locating a good one at the last minute. Finding a back up speaker that can come on practically a moment’s notice is crucial. I have two business associates that are ready to step in for me if an emergency happens… and they know that they can call on me as well.

    One place to find speakers on a moments notice is Toastmasters International. It’s the 3rd largest organization in the world (just behind Rotary and Kiwanis, I believe) and there are clubs in almost every town, city and even companies.

    Good luck to you with your event planning business and career. I have a good feeling that you’ll be very successful!
    Chris Brown

    • Thank you for the encouragement! I appreciate it!

      I will look into Toastmasters, I’ve heard of it but have never used it, I will definitely be looking there for some upcoming events to see what I can find.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

