Over Budget

Standard

We have all been there, when things are going well, but then you look at the numbers and you are at the maximum allotted money for your budget, and you still haven’t paid the caterer! Don’t fret, there are ways around this!

In my experience I have used a lot of different fundraising techniques to get some more money for an event. Of course this is not always plausible. What I do make sure of is that in my contract I state that there might be more charges added on due to sales tax, extra materials, amendments to the contract, or just glitches in the process. What I have learned the most is to be open and honest to your client on what happened with the budget and why you need more money.

If the reason is you used their money to buy your sister’s best friend a wedding gift, you probably won’t get any more money. But if it is something that was due to the project and things were stated clearly in the contract before the project started, the company will more than likely increase the budget, or go without food at the event.

Regardless of what you and your client decide to do, the best thing is to be honest about money issues, and have a plan on how you will allocate the rest of the funds to the project so there won’t be any more surprises down the road.

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

