Going Back

Standard

I realized the other day that I need to start thinking about how I am going to find everyone for my High School graduation. I know that I had an extremely small class, and with social media there are plenty of ways to get ahold of them. But what I thought was funny, is I don’t have anyone’s actual address. AND! I don’t know any of their numbers, I only know them as a Facebook person. What has happened with direct, physical contact? I only have two numbers from the people I went to High School with, and half the time we will chat via Facebook instead of calling one another! I did grow up in a small town so not having a lot of contacts with my graduating buddies is normal, especially since we all went our separate ways upon graduating, but what would I do if there was no social media? I would definitely be hard to get reconnected with some of these people!

Social media has been one of the greatest ways to find people. I randomly get “People you may know” and Facebook actually does a decent job finding those people through different connections on your page. Yet there are a lot of people who won’t claim certain things about themselves, they get married, or they change their name. It is interesting that looking back to when my mother got her invitation to her twenty year reunion in “snail mail” form. I don’t even know a single address, I only know the URL address from their twitter accounts! What has the world come to? We are so caught up in the internet that we don’t even know a telephone number by heart or an address to send an actual letter to.

It scares me that even my best friend sent her wedding invitation via Facebook for her wedding in January. I almost feel I should Facebook my graduation announcements as well! These inventions are great for getting connected, but are we truly connected? Once my class gets together will we “text talk” each other, jk lol. Will this virtual world every be the same again?

Actually I think I am going to call my friend right now and ask for her physical address so I can feel a little more “connected” with her!

 

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

