Ego

Standard

We all have our own egotistical ways about us, but it seems that in the service industry there is a lot more cocky attitudes than egos. I must say that I am not one for a cocky person, but it is interesting to see the industry getting worse and worse with the way people treat others.

The whole idea of poor communication and strong alpha male syndrome has flooded this industry. I know that we were raised to be our own leaders, but now I feel we should learn how to be a team. Within my classes at the university every single class has at least one group project in it. I like them because we get to bounce ideas off of one another and come up with a great solution. I also dread these times because everyone doesn’t get along, no one has time, or no one cares. It’s hard to find a good team, but once you get one you should strive to keep it successful.

I know that moving into a new city to start my career will be tough. I am nervous od the cultural shock of new attitudes within the workplace. I know that I am strong enough to rise above the petty situations, but at the same time the more intense the leader the more craziness I will have to deal with.

Know that event planning cannot be a one person show, create that team, and go with it. You can’t be everywhere at once, but a cohesive team can. So set your cocky attitude on the shelf and bring down the team!

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

