Fun in the Winter

Standard

I have been around winter events for my whole life. Growing up in Montana, there was not a lot to do during the winter unless you liked to hunt, snowboard, ski or any other winter sporting activity you can think of. So for me, not liking snow all the time, I was thrown into the inside duty of events.

In an earlier post, last week, I talked about planning holiday events. Well in Montana there isn’t just Holiday events, but keeping warm events as well. Anything a normal person would do outside, we did inside. I even remember planning a birthday party with a swing-set on the inside of the house so the girls could play “recess” without getting cold. The set-up and clean-up was awful, I must say, but well worth the girls’ expression when she got her dream birthday party.

I know that keeping beverages and food cold were actually a lot easier in the winter time, but we also had the problem of freezing the items as well. The greatest part about winter events though is keeping people warm. Not just with electricity and warm buttered rum, but also with laughter and great time.

Having events in the winter is almost more exciting and thrilling for me. Though it might be stressful up until the event, the clean up always seems easier because people are so relaxed and happy after the events in the winter. I am not sure if it has to do with the fact that people are around family and friends and it’s the season for caring, or if it is because they don’t want to go back outside in the cold! Whatever the case may be I do love the outcome of winter events.

People also tend to be more helpful with the planning process as well. I noticed that even the people who never help out, want to during this season. It is always a relief to know you will at least have one time a year when you have more people than necessary helping you, because, well ’tis the season! Sometimes you can get the most valuable people in the event industry to help more during this season. Ah, season changes!

http://b.dryicons.com/files/graphics_previews/winter_party.jpg

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

