Stress…

Standard

I know the feeling, the stressful time when you are in the middle of the event and everything goes wrong. Or the moment you are on a deadline to make sure a fundraiser is going and no one is calling you back. Or the moment when you realize all of your hard work was for nothing, as the bride leaves him at the altar. Whatever you are planning stress is involved. Sometimes there isn’t much, but for the most part stress is part of the job.

Whether you can handle the stress or not will make or break your career. I recently have run in to a fundraising deadline for a school function and I am running out of time to get a hold of people. My group wants a specific place to do their fundraiser, well this place has not answered my emails, returned my phone calls, or has been around the office anytime I have gone to talk to them. With time running out, I have decided to look into other venues. I already got a call back on a place willing to help out, and I called two others seeing if they would want to be a part of the fundraiser. With waiting a few more days I will have a venue to report back to the group. I know that it won’t be their first choice, but at least I will have something to show for all the work I have done to make this event happen.

I know that in the past if I hadn’t brought another option to the group I would not have the job anymore. I know that this business is fast paced, but sometimes if you don’t put in the extra time to find an alternative, then you are losing yourself in the battle. I know that people are often going to be upset that you couldn’t get the place they wanted, but it definitely lessens the blow when you come with options of places that are willing to help out. I do know that when I bring options they are more willing to be reasonable, and I always keep my job.

To be honest, as well, I usually use my connections to find another place, they usually help out because they know that I will be back again. I also know that if these connections cannot help me out with their space, they usually have another place for me to get into contact with. This in return helps make my list grow and give me more options for future issues. I know that taking a little bit more time always makes it worth it in the end (especially if you get to keep the job and show loyalty to them).

Happy Planning!

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

