Thanksgiving Events

Standard

My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. With the family, food, generosity, and everything else involved with the day, who wouldn’t find this day to be one amazing event? Especially with the annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. It is my family’s tradition that we have been involved in since I was three. My brothers and my father go out hunting, as it is the one of the last weekends to hunt in the area, and my mother and I stay at home getting the dinner ready for everyone.

Before the real cooking begins, my mother and I bake some cinnamon rolls and watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. I grew up around this show, it’s what made me want to be a dancer. I always wanted to be one of the Radio City Rockettes, with their high-flying kicks and their piercing smiles. I always wanted to go to the Parade, but then the tradition wouldn’t be quite the same, especially the home cooked meal at the end of the day wouldn’t be there, due to being in a New York Hotel.

It has been a few years since I have been able to celebrate this event with my family. With school and work, taking time off during the holidays is probably one of the hardest things to do. Not to mention the high price of flying home around the holidays as well is very expensive. I know that one day soon I will be able to be home for this event to pass on the tradition to my niece and nephew and to be a part of the family celebration. Until that day happens again, I know that I will be on the phone with my mother while the cinnamon rolls are baking in the oven, as we both watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

What are your traditional events around the holidays?

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

