How to get someone away from the microphone…

Standard

We have all had this, every event that happens there is always someone who wants to take the spotlight, or is too drunk the realize how big of fool they are making themselves out to be. In any case having a plan to get these fine people away from the microphone is key to making everyone happy and to get the event back on track.

Whether it is karaoke or a person who drags on a speech, there is always a way to get the person to sit down, and drink some coffee. I know that it is difficult to do this, because you are always looked at as the bad guy until later on in the evening. Or you could be looked at as the savior, depends on how obnoxious the microphone hog is.

I remember during my graduation party a local auctioneer wanted to sing a few songs. My family (mostly my Aunt B) loves the karaoke machine to be a part of family events. So I made sure I had one, regardless of my tastes. Anyways our auctioneer wouldn’t allow for anyone else to take over the microphone. My Aunt B the jealous type kept trying to step in so she could sing some more Shania Twain. Well in the midst of all of this there was a battle to the end to see who would get the last bit of singing time in before the event was over.

Regardless to say my Aunt B finally won and got to sing her song to end the evening… But the auctioneer got the last statement over the microphone. I am not sure how this battle will go at my wedding, because I already know that the karaoke machine will be present, as well as the two microphone mischiefs… But I do know where the microphone main switch is on the audio box… So if need be always unplug 😉

Happy Planning!

About nicoleelizas

I am a college student at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am studying Marketing and Management with a minor in Interior Design. I am on my way to graduating in December of 2011. After I graduate I am looking for a career in Event Planning in the greater Los Angeles area.

Leave a Reply

